On Loving Myself

I always considered myself as an independent and confident person.

I never thought of myself as someone who needs somebody else’s opinion to continue doing my own thing. I didn’t need or want other’s validation.

I thought I loved myself enough to just keep on being me.

Well, yeah, I love myself just the way it is. But I never knew how much those things others tell me would mean to me. 

I never knew how much those little things would help me keep on going when I am just about to give up.

I never gave value to my (or anyone else’s, actually) physical appearance. But my friends’ approval of my new look boosted my self-confidence big time.

What I what to say is, all those positive comments coming from a lot of people can change your life. As exaggerated as it may sound, it is true.

Personally, they give me courage to dream more dreams. I’ve been losing all my hope in my course now, which is studying languages (my major is German), I was actually convinced I am getting kicked out of my Department at the end of the sem. Until I was given a chance to talk with a German native speaker and he told me my German is very good. He even asked me if I studied German in Germany. Just imagine how his two sentences changed my perspective.

Additionally, they give me courage to try more things. I just recently got a pixie cut after growing my hair for two years. And a lot of my friends have been complimenting me after seeing my new look.

The thing is, no matter how small things may seem, it all adds up at the end of the day and can make a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

